Australian Algebra Conference

Aims of the AAC

The main aim of the annual Australian Algebra Conference is to foster communication between algebraists in Australia. We interpret algebra quite broadly, including areas such as topological algebra, algebraic logic, graph theory and coding theory.

The conference has a proud tradition of encouraging talks by students: typically about one third of the talks are presented by students. The conference aims to provide graduate students in algebra with the opportunity to give their first public presentation in a relaxed and supportive environment. Each conference, the most outstanding student talk is awarded the Gordon Preston Prize.

The next conference

The 7th Australian Algebra Conference will be held at Monash University. Details TBD.

History of the AAC

The Australian Algebra Conference began life as a Victorian conference. The zeroth Victorian Algebra Conference, at La Trobe University in 1982, was actually a workshop on lattice theory and universal algebra, which was organised by Brian Davey because he had two international visitors, Heinrich Werner (Kassel) and Hilary Priestley (Oxford). This workshop brought together Australian algebraists from a wide range of areas, and its success led Gordon Preston to suggest "We should do this every year". The Algebra Conference of Victoria (ACV), later the Victorian Algebra Conference (VAC) and now the Australian Algebra Conference (AAC) has been held every year since. The conference was renamed as the Australian Algebra Conference in 2017.

    • 6th AAC: University of the Sunshine Coast from 28 November–30 November, 2022

    • 5th AAC: University of Western Australia from 17 November–19 November, 2021

    • 4th AAC: University of Melbourne, 18 January–20 January, 2021

    • 3rd AAC: RMIT University, 30 November–1 December, 2019

    • 2nd AAC: incorporated into the Asia-Australian Algebra Conference, Western Sydney University, Parramatta City Campus 21 January–25 January, 2019

    • 1st AAC: University of Technology Sydney 27 November–29 November, 2017

    • 34th VAC: La Trobe University 22 November–23 November, 2016

    • 33rd VAC: Western Sydney University 30 November–2 December, 2015

    • 32nd VAC: Monash University 2–3 October, 2014

    • 31st VAC: University of Melbourne 28–29 November, 2013

    • 30th VAC: RMIT University, 29–30 November, 2012

    • 29th VAC: La Trobe University, 1–2 December, 2011

    • 28th VAC: Monash University, 4–5 November, 2010

    • 27th VAC: University of Melbourne, 5–6 November, 2009

    • 26th VAC: RMIT University, 2–3 October, 2008

    • 25th VAC: La Trobe University, 23–24 September, 2007

    • 24th VAC: Deakin University, 27–28 November, 2006

    • 23rd VAC: University of Western Australia, 24–26 September, 2005 (incorporating a Workshop on Groups and Combinatorics)

    • 22nd VAC: RMIT University, 27–28 November, 2004

    • 21st VAC: La Trobe University, 29 September–1 October, 2003 (incorporating a Workshop on Universal Algebraic Methods in Semigroip Theory and Algebraic Logic)

    • 20th VAC: Deakin University, 28–29 October, 2002

    • 19th VAC: RMIT University, 22–23 November, 2001

    • 18th VAC: La Trobe University, 23–24 November, 2000

    • 17th VAC: University of Melbourne, 17 July, 1999

    • 16th VAC: RMIT University, 5–6 November, 1998

    • 15th VAC: Scotch College, 30–31 October, 1997

    • 14th VAC: University of Melbourne, 1996

    • 13th VAC: La Trobe University, 28–29 September, 1995

    • 12th VAC: Swinburne University of Technology, 26–27 September, 1994

    • 11th VAC: RMIT University, 20–21 September, 1993

    • 10th VAC: Monash University (Caulfield), 10–11 October, 1992

    • 9th ACV: University of Melbourne, 13–14 July, 1991

    • 8th ACV/VAC: University of Melbourne, 27–28 September, 1990

    • 7th ACV: La Trobe University, 21–22 September, 1989

    • 6th ACV: Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, 2–3 September, 1988

    • 5th ACV: Monash University, 16–17 May, 1987

    • 4th ACV: University of Melbourne, 25–27 August, 1986

    • 3rd ACV: La Trobe University, May 1985

    • 2nd ACV: Monash University, May 1984

    • 1st ACV: University of Melbourne, 2–3 June, 1983

    • 0th VAC: (Mini-Conference on Lattice Theory and Universal Algebra) La Trobe University, 16–18 August, 1982